top of page

Despite what your head can tell you, remember you can make it through and you are good enough to suc


For those of you who don’t know, I’m training at the University of Dundee to become a primary teacher, a dream I’ve had for years. Before this week I had been doubting my ability to be a teacher. I was ill the whole way through my placement in first year and being my usual pessimistic self, when it came to my reflections on lessons I had done, I was consistently hard on myself. What I didn’t know at the time was that this was a sign of what was to come over summer. I managed to soldier through placement but on reflection now I realise I was too hard on myself as I was only a first year student in a very socially and economically deprived area experiencing a whole range of new environments and experiences. I had just moved away from home, from all the traditions I was used to and thrown into a totally different world. It was hard but I need to remember I did manage to pass despite it all. I’ve been doubting my ability as a teacher for a while. The ongoing pressures of the current education system in Scotland is a strain and I questioned my ability to cope with it all to the point that I had convinced myself I was that bad I didn’t deserve a place on the course. I was contemplating leaving at the start of the new term. A lot of it is to do with my low self esteem and my constant strive for perfection and fear of failure that drives my mind completely crazy and uncontrollable in these situations. This card from my P7’s at placement is my wee reminder everyday that I can do this and despite what my head tells me I am adamant to see through my course and reach my dream. The messages inside this card from the kids I will cherish forever and it will be my go to whenever I feel down. I want you to know that with the right work and perseverance you can see yourself through anything. Your determination will only see you gain the strength and courage to get through those hard times when it’s so tempting to give up. From my experience, my advice is never give up on your dream and don’t be too hard on yourself. What is meant to be will be 💪


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page