top of page

The grasp of social media


We're all on it. Ironically we are even on it now looking at my post. Social media is brilliant for lots of things. Keeping in touch with friends and family, home or afar, organising meetings and creating events. It keeps us all in the loop. However there comes a point where we simply cannot keep our hands off our phones. At the dinner table, in cinemas or theatres and in the middle of conversation, I first handedly have been involved or have seen this happen. These are all real life social interactions that we barricade ourselves from to look at a four sided electronic device. I mean, again I am not one to talk, I am frequently on my phone and could definitely use it less but it's easy to see how we are all becoming addicted to the world of social media and the baggage that comes with it. This can have serious implications on your health. Before, even when I was younger, you could leave the baggage of school life at school when you came home, but now it comes with you. You could leave the baggage of a mistake you made on a night out, but now it'll be caught on someone's snapchat story with perhaps 4 or 5 folk screenshotting it. The amount of public humiliation I see on a day to day basis on social media is disgusting and for those who have to go through it, it can be absolute hell. Remember that sometimes what we class as a joke online can sometimes be hurtful so be aware of your words. Everything online is also fabricated, even our photos have filters. We need to take time off our phones, not use it at the table, watch our theatre or cinema show without interruption and speak to people. I have said previously about the importance of a good nights sleep, stick your phone through to the kitchen. All of these are worth a try 😃Feeling like you don't have to rely on your phone can be a major weight off your shoulders and as my mum has said to me before 'what are you missing out on when you don't look at your phone?' I'm definitely missing out on a hell of a lot less than when I use my phone all the time 😃 Experience your life through living, not through your electronic device, that's what I try to tell myself 😊


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page